On #internationalwomensday, as well as every other day, I am thankful for the women activists, the women writers, the women theorists, and the women artists past, present, and future. The radicals, the misandrists, the hard femmes, the soft butches, the dykes, and those unapologetically drinking cis male tears. The women of color, trans women, intersex women, queer women, undocumented women, poor women, and disabled women whose needs and existence too frequently are ignored by the mainstream feminist movement, who never receive adequate credit for their labor even within activist communities. And to my mother, who from the moment I was born has always taught me what it means to survive. I am not a woman, but I am forever grateful for what different kinds of womanhood and femininity can mean.

